Am 2. May. 2021 | 19:00 Uhr

Ars Electronica Home Delivery: Concert: J.S. Bach & Maurice Ravel

Created at 26. Apr. 2021

1160 Ansichten
by arselectronica

It will soon be one year since the launch of the Ars Electronica Home Delivery series “Pianographique” as a musical and visual response to a pandemic whose far-reaching consequences we were just beginning to imagine. Now one year later we are again at a crossroads: millions of lives lost, fragile existences endangered, economic devastation a recurring reality. The newly developed vaccines have brought a measure of hope, at least for the countries wealthy enough to access them, but unless we find a way internationally to make vaccines available world-wide, the little real progress that has been made will evaporate in a cloud of new mutations. Gerfried Stocker, Maki Namekawa, and Dennis Russell Davies would like to commemorate the original program from one year ago with the work first presented: Maurice Ravel’s masterful “Mother Goose Suite”, with visuals by Cori O’Lan. The beginning of the program will dedicate three organ preludes by J.S. Bach, arranged by György Kurtag, to the memory of the victims of this tragic pandemic.


Program: J.S. Bach (arr. by György Kurtag): “Gottes Zeit ist die allerbeste Zeit” (“God's time is the very best time”, “Actus tragicus”) “Aus tiefer Not schrei ich zu dir” (“Out of deep anguish I call to You”) “O Lamm Gottes, unschuldig” (“O Lamb of God, innocent”) Maurice Ravel: “Ma mère l'Oye” I. Pavane de Belle au bois dormant (“Pavane of Sleeping Beauty”) II. Petit Poucet (“Little Tom Thumb”) III. Laideronnette, Imperatrice des Pagodes (“Little Ugly Girl, Empress of the Pagodas”) IV. Les entretiens de la Belle et de la Bete (“Conversation of Beauty and the Beast”) V. Le jardin feerique (“The Fairy Garden”)

Live gesendet am 2. Mai 2021

Share & Embed
Embed this Video

Link to this Video

Add new comment

login or register to post comments.